The Bark of the Bog Owlbarkowl2
Book One: The Wilderking Trilogy
by Jonathan Rogers

ISBN: 0805431314 (Hardcover)
Pub. Date: September 2004
Publisher: B&H Publishing Group

For 12 year old Aidan Errolson, spending his days tending sheep can be rather boring. He daydreams about being a brave adventurous warrior in the service of King Darrow of Corenwald. Aidan gets a quick taste of adventure when one day he encounters Dobro Turtlebane of the Tam. Dobro is one of the “feechiefolk,” a wild nomadic people that travel the rivers of Corenwald. And that’s just the start. Bayard the Truthspeaker, the great prophet of the land, shows up at Longleaf Manor and is convinced that young Aidan is indeed the Wilderking. “From the land’s wildest places a wild man will come to give the land back to her people.” Aidan’s father and brothers don’t really take this notion seriously.

In time Corenwald’s old enemies, the Pyrthen Empire, challenges King Darrow and his complacent army to send a champion to face their giant in a duel. Young Aidan is the only one who has confidence in God to accept the challenge. The courage of this young shepherd awakens the long lost spirit of what once was Corenwald’s valiant men.

Rogers has taken the story of David and Goliath and meshed it into a fine little fantasy that has plenty of characters and actions. This book will appeal to readers of all ages.